I’ve often heard people claim that they fell out of love with their partner. While logically this makes sense, I don’t understand it on an emotional level. Somehow I think that if you really love someone, you don’t ever stop. Your love for them doesn’t mean that they are required to love you back. I think true love is a logical decision that can’t be reversed. That means that it doesn’t go away despite circumstances. You don’t have to be with the person you love to still love them. You don’t have to marry the person you love. I’ve realized that love just isn’t enough to have a relationship. Other things have to be present. Romantic love can transition to content love. This happens when you want the other person to be happy regardless of the fact that they’ll never be with you in the way that you love. Love doesn’t go away, it just changes. It moves and changes shape and color but the basic elements remain the same. 

