A few months ago I had an opportunity that I had never had. I had the chance to spend some time with one of my guy friends that I hadn’t seen in a while. There are a lot of societal expectations when it comes to platonic relationships and how they should be. I for one hate sending mixed messages because it just causes confusion and frustration. My guy friend was a cool person but one thing I appreciated was that when we were together he paid for everything. And I mean everything. It was so refreshing because it was something I had never experienced. There was no awkward grab for the check or some sheepish “I forgot my wallet” excuse. He told me “whatever you want, you get” and he was serious. There weren’t any price limits. No side eyes or frantic calculations to see if he could cover the cost. It was at this time that I vowed if I ever had a significant other I wanted similar treatment. No, I’m not the type of person to go overboard but it’s nice to know that someone has your back and genuinely doesn’t mind doing something to make you happy even if it involves money. I need more of that in my life and I’ll be happy to reciprocate too. Or maybe just incentivize that type of treatment. I’m a believer in positive reinforcement. 

