Today I had to make a pretty hard decision. It wasn’t something that I wanted to do but something that had to be done. The thing is that while I know I can be dramatic at times, there are some instances where red flags just can’t be ignored. Personally, I don’t care for the process of getting to know people. It’s a lot of time and conversation to get to the point of feeling comfortable and if those things don’t happen then they are pegged as acquaintances instead of potential friends. I know that life is stressful and everyone is busy but refusing to answer phone calls and responding to texts 8 hours after the fact indicates a lack of caring, disregard of common courtesy and a lack of any serious intent to build a relationship. I’m so over it. The spaces in my life for people that I know I can’t count on have already been filled and I refuse to create a waiting list. So then that means that a cut off needs to happen. It’s not due some huge disagreement but rather different priorities. It really sucks because I did see some potential but I can’t deal with being consistently ignored without any explanation. That’s not how I want to live. But ultimately, the person made that choice themselves and while there’s no hard feelings I’ve learned that I have to protect myself first. Just wish it didn’t have to be this way. 

